## Barton Community College Accreditation Committee Committee Charter

Name of Team: Accreditation Committee

**Context:** Accreditation is a quality standard of which institutions of higher education must be assessed by a regulating entity. An accreditation status of good standing assures students, families, the public, and government officials the instruction, services, and operations of the institution meets appropriate standards. Institutions must be in good standing with accreditors to be eligible to participate in federal financial aid programs. A good accreditation standing also ensures the transfer of credit hours to other institutions of higher education. The Higher Learning Commission (HLC), recognized as a national accrediting agency by the U.S. Department of Education (ED), has oversight over Barton's institutional accreditation. Institutional accreditation quality is monitored through various periodic check point activities.

**Purpose:** The Accreditation Committee works towards a comprehensive institutional understanding of and compliance with accreditation requirements and expectations under the HLC Standard Pathways accreditation track inclusive of the following:

- Accreditation Requirements & Expectations
  - o HLC Criteria of Accreditation
  - HLC Assumed Practices
  - o <u>HLC Eligibility Requirements</u>
  - Federal Compliance Requirements
  - o HLC Obligations of Membership
- Accreditation Monitoring Activities
  - o Annual Institutional Data Update (AIDU) Report to HLC
  - Substantive Change Requests
  - Multi-Location Visits
  - Mid-Cycle Comprehensive Visit
  - Comprehensive Visit
  - Any Other Actions Required by HLC

**Duration and Time Commitment:** The committee is a permanent institutional team. The committee will meet in frequency as is warranted with four scheduled meetings (September, November, February, April). Sub-committees will meet in accordance with identified projects and tasks.

**Boundaries & Limitations:** The committee operates within Barton Community College Policy and Procedures, Kansa Board of Regents rules and requirements, State of Kansas Statues, Higher Learning Commission requirements and expectations, and Federal Statutes and Regulations.

## Membership:

Individual	Title	Accreditation Committee Roles
Myrna Perkins	Chief Accreditation Officer	Committee Facilitator
		Accreditation Liaison Officer
		HLC Peer Reviewer
Janet Balk	Director of Ft Riley Academic Programs	Committee Member
		Evidence Collection
Mark Dean	Vice President of Administration	Committee Member
		Criterion 2 & 5 Representative
Renee Demel	Chief Information Officer	Committee Member
Jo Harrington	Mathematics Instructor	Coordinator of Assessment
		Barton Assessment Academy Lead
		HLC Assessment Academy Mentor
Maggie Harris	Chief Communications Officer	Committee Member
Dr. Carl Heilman	President	Committee Member
Jenna Hoffman	Director of Human Resources	Committee Member
Lindsay Holmes	Director of Hazardous Materials,	Committee Member
	Emergency Management, and	Evidence Collection
	Occupational Safety and Health	
Brian Howe	Director of Student Academic	Committee Member
	Development	
Darren Ivey	Director of Library and College Archives	Committee Member
		Accreditation Archives
Stephanie Joiner	Director of Student Academic	Committee Member
	Development	Accreditation Writing Team
Dr. Kathy Kottas	Dean of Workforce Training &	Committee Member
	Community Education	
Abby Kujath	Director of Military Student Services	Committee Member
		Evidence Collection
Karly Little	Coordinator of Community Education	Committee Member
		Accreditation Writing Team
Angie Maddy	Vice President of Student Services	Committee Member
		Criterion 2 & 4 Representative
Claudia Mather	Associate Dean of Instruction	Committee Member
Lee Miller	Director of Innovation and Compliance	Committee Member
		Accreditation Writing Team

Todd Mobray	Director of Institutional Effectiveness	Committee Member
		Criterion 1 & 5 Representative
		Evidence Collection
Sarah Riegel	Administrative Assistant	Meeting Reporter
Amye Schneider	Assistant to the President	Committee Member
		Accreditation Archives
Elaine Simmons	Vice President of Instruction	Committee Member
		Criterion 3 & 4 Representative
Kurtis Teal	Dean of Military Academic, Technical	Committee Member
	Education, and Outreach Programs	
Randy Thode	Chief Institutional Researcher	Committee Member
		Evidence Collection

Representatives*	Title
Dr. Heilman	President
Todd Mobray	Director of Institutional Effectiveness
Mark Dean	Vice President of Administration
Angie Maddy	Vice President of Student Services
Elaine Simmons	Vice President of Instruction
Angie Maddy	Vice President of Student Services
Elaine Simmons	Vice President of Instruction
Jo Harrington	Coordinator of Assessment
Mark Dean	Vice President of Administration
Todd Mobray	Director of Institution Effectiveness
	Dr. Heilman Todd Mobray Mark Dean Angie Maddy Elaine Simmons Angie Maddy Elaine Simmons Jo Harrington Mark Dean

Ayrna Perkins, Accreditation Liaison Officer, representative ad hoc for all Criteria.